Lebowitz Prize Winners

Michael E. Bratman (ΦBK, Haverford College), the U.G. and Abbie Birch Durfee Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences at Stanford University, and Margaret P. Gilbert, the Abraham I. Melden Chair in Moral Philosophy and Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at the University of California, Irvine, have won the 2019 Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution. 

Awarded annually by ΦBK in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association (APA), the prize requires that the two recipients hold contrasting views on a topic of current interest in philosophy. They present their views and engage in a dialogue at an annual Lebowitz symposium, held during an APA divisional meeting. This year, each winner will be awarded an honorarium of $25,800.

Bratman specializes in the philosophy of action, with a focus on issues of social agency and practical rationality. He is the author of multiple books on aspects of intention and agency, and of a joint paper (with David Israel and Martha Pollack), “Plans and Resource-Bounded Practical Reasoning,” which was recognized for its contributions to the field of artificial intelligence. 

Gilbert’s research interests span diverse topics in social, political, and moral philosophy; rights theory; and philosophy of law. In multiple books, she has explored the philosophy of social phenomena, political obligation, and rights. She has previously served as a professor and visiting researcher at universities in the United States, Europe, and Scandinavia. 

Bratman and Gilbert caught the attention of the panel for the 2019 Lebowitz Prize with their topic, “What is it to Act Together?” Their proposed dialogue for the Lebowitz symposium focuses on their respective views concerning the philosophical underpinnings of how two or more individuals come together in a collaborative effort.

The winners will present their work in April 2020 at the APA Pacific Division meeting in San Francisco and will be featured in an episode of Key Conversations with Phi Beta Kappa, a podcast produced by ΦBK.

Nominations for the 2020 Lebowitz Prize are due December 1. Visit the Lewbowitz Prize online at
pbk.org/awards for more information.