2022 Book Awards Short List

The Society is pleased to announce the finalists for its 2022 Book Awards:  Shortlisted for the Ralph Waldo Emerson Award • All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley’s Sack, a Black Family Keepsake by Tiya Miles • Covered with Night: A Story of Murder and Indigenous Justice in Early America by Nicole Eustace • Looking for the […]

Key Connections keys logo

Key Connections Fall 2022

Key Connections, an event series that offers opportunities for recent Phi Beta Kappa inductees to network with fellow members virtually and in their local communities.

David McCullough photo

Member Spotlight: David McCullough

McCullough was a two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the first in 1993 for Truman, his biography of the 33rd president of the United States. He won his second Pulitzer in 2002 for John Adams.

Thomas Manglona photo

A Local Journalist’s Inspiration

When Thomas Mangloña II (ΦBK, University of California at Berkeley) returned home to work in the Northern Mariana Islands, he brought this experience and education back with him. 

Alexander Meiklejohn photo

Alexander Meiklejohn

An advocate of free speech, ΦBK member Alexander Meiklejohn (1872–1964) dedicated his life to learning and innovation. The Meiklejohn Peer Advising Program at Brown University is a lasting testament to his vision for higher education.

Janet Thornburg photo

From Passion to Devotion: The Lifelong Journey of a Geologist 

Janet Bauder Thornburg (ΦBK, Stanford University) discusses her passion for learning and her work with the Detroit association of Phi Beta Kappa.

Frederick M. Lawrence photo

From the Secretary: New Chapter Installations

This spring we welcomed our three newest chapters located at Providence College, Rollins College, and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

2022 Lebowitz Prize

The American Philosophical Association and Phi Beta Kappa are pleased to announce that Cristina Lafont, the Harold H. and Virginia Anderson Professor of Philosophy at Northwestern University, and Alex Guerrero, Professor of Philosophy at Rutgers University, have won the 2022 Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution.

PBK Key image

Welcome ΦBK’s Newest Chapters

The Phi Beta Kappa Society welcomed three new chapters this past spring at the following institutions: Rollins College on March 3, University of North Carolina at Charlotte on April 20, and Providence College on April 26. Phi Beta Kappa now counts chapters at 293 institutions among its ranks. ΦBK Secretary and CEO Frederick M. Lawrence […]

Key Connections keys logo

Key Connections Events 2022

For the sixth consecutive year, Phi Beta Kappa is partnering with its network of local alumni associations to host Key Connections events throughout September and October.

Key Into Public Service 2022

Key Into Public Service Scholars 2022

Inspired by many Phi Beta Kappa members who have shaped the course of our nation through local, state, and federal service, the Society announces the 20 recipients of the Key into Public Service scholarships.

Eiffel Tower photo

2022 Sibley & Jensen Winners

Abigail Fields of Yale University is the winner of the 2022 Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship. Alexis Stanley of UC Berkeley is the winner of the 2022 Walter J. Jensen Fellowship. Both awards will be used for doctoral research in France.